IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award

The IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1990 to honor teachers of electrical and electronics engineering and the related disciplines. Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.
IEEE Education Society
IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.
Basis for Judging:
In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: excellence in teaching undergraduate students; creative development of the undergraduate curriculum; authorship of course materials for undergraduate students; involvement with undergraduate students through activities such as advising, project supervision, faculty counseling or advising for student organizations; attracting students to engineering and scientific profession; and the quality of the nomination.
Nomination Details:

The nomination deadline is 31 January.

Nomination Form


Christopher Rose

For innovations in team-oriented signature design and inspiring women and underrepresented minority students to pursue engineering

Lisa G. Huettel

For leadership in curriculum development as well as teaching and mentoring of undergraduate students in electrical and computer engineering

Susan M. Lord

Bonnie Heck Ferri