Board of Governors (term 2021-2023)

We are happy to announce that the IEEE Education Society Board of Governors election results have been received by the IEEE Election Office.

The four newly elected Members-at-Large (term 2021-2023) include:

  • Diana Andone
  • Maria Feldgen
  • Tony Maciejewski
  • Karen A. Panetta

The elected candidates will serve their 3-year Board of Governor's term from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2023.

We invite you to learn more about the newly elected Members-at-Large by reading their biographies below. 

2021-2023 Members-at-Large

Diana Andone

Director of the eLearning Center
Politehnica University of Timisoara


Dr. Diana Andone is Director of the eLearning Center Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania, responsible for planning and implementing digital technologies, online learning technologies, and the university award-winning Virtual Campus CVUPT. She is also an associate professor at the Politehnica University of Timisoara, in multimedia, interactive, and web technologies. Since 1998, she teaches course modules in universities from UK, France, USA, Finland, Italy, Greece. She holds a PhD in Designing eLearning Spaces for Digital Students with Brighton University, UK, has extensive research experience with intense publication (over 17 books, 100 research papers, 11 Best Paper Awards) and more than 30 research and educational projects, mainly funded by the European Commission. She is passionate about the ubiquitous access to technologies and how they can be used to improve people’s life.

Dr. Andone actively promotes the use of OERs, MOOCs and the open education principles, training for digital skills, acting in international associations (EDEN, IEEE, AACE, IADIS, IAFES,) actively supports the local start-up movement (StartUp Weekend, HackTM, hackathons, CoderDojo) and Girls in Tech, Women in Tech and STEM education. She also acts in the Board of Romanian NGOs (Pentru Voi Foundation), in Timisoara 2021 European Capital of Culture Task Force, and a member of Rotary Club Timisoara and Rotary International.⧉

María Feldgen

Universidad de Buenos Aires


Maria Feldgen received her degree in Scientific Computing from the University of Buenos Aires (1982). She is a retired Associate Professor of Computer Engineering and Researcher at the School of Engineering, University of Buenos Aires. She has more than 35 years of experience in teaching, research in Distributed Computing for Cyber Physical Systems, and in Engineering Education, working with IEEE. She is member of the Education Society since 1998 and as officer of IEEE Argentina, she was founder of the Argentine Chapter of EdSoc, president and vice president several times.

As president of EdSoc, she organized meetings and conferences about Accreditation in Engineering Programs and Engineering Education; Panels, Workshops and participated in a project to connect Engineering with the Pre-university Community. She is member of program committees, was conference chair for several Congresses in Computing and Engineering Education, author and reviewer of the FIE and ACM. She was conference chair of EDUNINE 2018 and is the actual technical chair of EDUNINE. She received the following awards from IEEE: “Notable Services and Contributions towards the advancement of IEEE and the Engineering Professions” (2006) and the IEEE Education Society Certificate of Appreciation (2020).

Tony Maciejewski

Professor and Head of the Department of Computer Engineering
Colorado State University
United States


Tony Maciejewski received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering in 1982, 1984, and 1987, respectively, all from Ohio State University.  In 1985-86 he was an American Electronics Association Japan Research Fellow at the Hitachi Central Research Laboratory in Tokyo, Japan.  From 1988 to 2001 he was a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Purdue University.  He is currently a Professor and Department Head of ECE at Colorado State University (CSU) and serves on the ECE Department Head’s Association (ECEDHA) board of directors as senior past president.

Maciejewski's research and teaching interests center on engineering education and on the design and control of kinematically redundant robots, especially for fault-tolerant systems.  He has co-authored over 300 publications in journals, books and conferences.  His commitment to education resulted in his receiving five teaching awards, including CSU’s “Instructional Innovation Award” and multiple NSF education grants, including the first Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (RED) grant awarded to an ECE Department.  The RED project at CSU received the National Society of Professional Engineers – Colorado chapter “Public Project of the Year” award in 2019 and the ECEDHA “Innovative Program” award in 2020.

Karen Panetta

Dean for Graduate Engineering
Tufts University School of Engineering
United States


Karen A. Panetta is the Dean for Graduate Education in the Tufts University School of Engineering, a Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering and an Adjunct Professor of Computer Science and Adjunct Professor of Mechanical Engineering. She is an award-winning undergraduate engineering teacher with over 25 years of classroom experience. Dr. Panetta was the 2019 President of IEEE HKN (Eta-Kappa, Nu) and is the Editor-in-Chief of the award-winning IEEE Women in Engineering Magazine and is the Vice-President of the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society for Membership and Student Activities. She was a NASA JOVE Fellow and Past Vice-President of IEEE-USA. Prior to joining the Tufts faculty, Dr. Panetta was a Principal Engineer for Digital Equipment Corporation. Karen received her Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Northeastern University, and the B.S. degree in Computer Engineering from Boston University.